Open Letter #1

Well the site has been running for about a week and a half now and things couldn’t be off to a better start.  I want to thank everyone who has come out to the site so far.  I hope that you have had as much fun reading the editorials and reviews and listening to the podcasts as I have had putting them all together.  One of the best feelings you get as a writer is knowing that people are reading and enjoying your writing.  Well, this letter is to all of you who have supported The Exclaiming Gamer so far.

Every week on Wednesday, I’m going to take a few moments to write a formal letter to the community .   In the letter, I’ll talk about the different things going on with the site and what you all have to look forward to in terms of new content, features, community events, and more.

This week, I want to focus on two additions to the site.  You have probably noticed that a Digg button has been added to all of the unique and important posts on the site.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with digg, it is a website that collects important news submissions from users all across the web and ranks them based on how many people recommend each story.  Essentially, it is a way for you to say “Hey everyone!  This guy/gal has the best coverage of this important event”.  It is a great way for blogs and websites to get some exposure outside of their immediate network.  So, if you see a review or story that you like, I ask that you click the digg button so that you can help other people get to know and enjoy The Exclaiming Gamer as much as you do.

While digg buttons are live and have been for the last few days, the other announcement is still in progress.  Soon, The Exclaiming Gamer will feature a steady stream of video content.  I am currently in the process of getting my A/V system set up and I have a few more piece of equipment I still need to buy, but by this time next week, you will hopefully see regular video review companions in addition to other features that I am not quite ready to let out of the bag.

I hope I have been able to give you something to look forward to.  I can’t wait to start putting together some video features for you to enjoy.  If you have any comments, questions, suggestions, or responses to this letter, please feel free to comment below.  It has been a great ride so far and I hope to continue it into the future with all of you.

-Doug

The Exclaiming Gamer

Leave a Reply

