My Most Anticipated Games for the Second Half of 2009 Part 4

This is it! The moment you have all been waiting for! I know you can’t contain your excitement any longer, so I present to you my top five most anticipated games for the second half of 2009:

5. Alpha Protocol (Sega, Obsidian)

Platforms: XBOX 360, PS3, & PC

Expected Release: October 6th

Pictured:  Me punching Obsidian in the face for KOTOR II

Pictured: Me punching Obsidian in the face for KOTOR II

Why it made my list: It has taken me a while to forgive Obsidian for what they did to my beloved KOTOR series when they were handed the follow-up project to the smash hit and released what was, at least in my opinion, a mess of a game with KOTOR II. The information leaking out about Alpha Protocol has restored a little bit of my faith in the developer, making me think that they have probably learned a lot from their KOTOR II days. The game promises to have branching dialogue that will have a heavy impact on the storyline and gameplay. Combine that with a promising amount of action and RPG elements and you get a game that gets me interested.

4. Brutal Legend (EA, Double Fine)

Platforms: XBOX 360 & PS3

Expected Release: October 13th

I, Jack Black, do solemnly swear to not ruin this game...

I, Jack Black, do solemnly swear to not ruin this game...

Why it made my list: Even though I have never played Psychonauts, I have heard so many people heaping so much praise upon the game that I have come to respect Tim Schafer and the way he goes about making games. Everything I have seen or read about Brutal Legend has forced me to put the game in my top 5. October is going to be a great month!

3. BioShock 2 (2k, 2k Marin, Digital Extremes)

Platforms: XBOX 360, PS3, & PC

Expected Release: Late 2009 – Early 2010

What I may turn into if I don't get my fix of BioShock in 2009.

What I may turn into if I don't get my fix of BioShock in 2009.

Why it made my list: Ok, so there is a really good chance that BioShock 2 will not actually come out in 2009 (See this article), but since fiscal year 2010 still technically includes part of 2009, I am holding out hope. Like most people who played the original BioShock, I was enthralled by the entertaining gameplay, thrilling story, and rich atmosphere. I do not know if BioShock 2 will live up to the lofty reputation of its predecessor, but I am sure willing to give it a try.

2. Assassin’s Creed 2 (Ubisoft, Ubisoft Montreal)

Platforms: XBOX 360, PS3, & PC

Expected Release: November 17th

Altair was great and all, but Ezio is at least twice as bad ass.

Altair was great and all, but Ezio is at least twice as bad ass.

Why it made my list: Take the original Assassin’s Creed. Get rid of all the stupid things that annoyed you about it (pointless open world, repetitive mission structure). Now put the game in Renaissance Era Italy and you have Assassin’s Creed 2. Do you see why I am excited?

1. Modern Warfare 2 (Activision, Infinity Ward)

Platforms: XBOX 360, PS3, & PC

Expected Release: November 10th

Make sure to hit the enemy's weak point for massive damage!

Make sure to hit the enemy's weak point for massive damage!

Why it made my list: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare ran away with my personal game of the year in 2007. I still play it regularly today. It contains one of the most polished and entertaining single player campaigns ever included in a blockbuster FPS. CoD4 also has, in my opinion, the best multiplayer action of any console game around. Modern Warfare 2 promises to improve upon both the single player and multiplayer aspects of CoD4. If Infinity Ward is able to deliver on theses improvements, I will be playing a lot of Modern Warfare 2 in November.

So there you have it.  Those are the games I am excited about for the rest of the year.  As the release dates approach, be sure to look out for previews, reviews, and news on all these games and others.  The annual Fall deluge of games approaches!  Time to start saving up some cash.

Leave a Reply

